Skip to the content

Match Report : Whitletts Vics


Whitletts Victoria blew the Ayrshire District League promotion race wide open as they inflicted a first defeat of the season on league leaders Ardrossan at Winton Park.

It was no more than Vics deserved over the 90+ minutes as they took the game to their hosts straight from the kick off and had the better of the play throughout.

Craig Harvey proved to be a thorn in the Winton side in the first half and it was from his low cross in the opening minute that Louis Kerr was given an ideal opportunity only to be denied by the big toe of a Winton defender which was enough to thwart the youngster.

Josh Sloan was then denied with a shot from the edge of the area that was well saved by John Mullen in the Winton but in the 9th minute it was Ardrossan who took the lead after Sloan was adjudged to have brought down Steven Tan right on the byeline and former Ayr player Ryan Caddis calmly slotted the resulting penalty past McInnes.

But in the 17th minute, Vics were back on level terms courtesy of a penalty of their own. Winton defender Marc Davidson was short with a back pass that allowed Paul Cameron to nip in and knock the ball past the sprawling figure of Mullen who brought the Vics midfielder down. No doubt about the award or the red card given to the Winton keeper and Harvey stroked the penalty high past stand in keeper Bobby Colligan.

Whitletts were in control of the proceedings and it came as no surprise when they took the lead in the 32nd minute. The impressive Sean Ewart’s cross picked out Harvey who rose unchallenged to head past Colligan.

That forced Winton boss Sandy McLean into making a change to tighten things up for the home side but in the final minute of the half, Harvey had a great chance for his hat trick when he evaded the challenges of two Winton defenders but with just Colligan to beat he skied his shot high and wide.

It was a similar story in the second period with Whitletts contolling the midfield but Winton were proving more of a threat in attack as Vics at times sat too deep inviting the league leaders onto them. Caddis had a shot well saved by McInnes and midway through the half a cross from Regan Ross came back off the face of the crossbar. Then when the ball was played back into the box Tan flicked the ball just over the bar.

Whitletts thought were still having the better of the exchanges and in the 69th minute they increased their advantage. A corner kick was played to Kerr who beat a defender inside the box and his low cross was turned in at the back post by substitute Niall Kennedy.

Ardrossan have proven this season that they don’t throw in the towel with numerous late goals winning them vital points but it was looking more likely that Whitletts would increase their lead and with five minutes remaining Cameron saw his netbound effort headed off the line by Ross.

But with two minutes to go, true to form, Winton struck. Whitletts failed to clear the danger inside the area and from eight yards Lawrence McMahon struck to give the home side hope. As they pressed looking for an unlikely equaliser, Whitletts had two great chances to score. Both falling to substitute Jordan Boyd. The first he was through one on one but hit the ball straight at Colligan and then deep in jury time in similar circumstances, this time he took the ball past the keeper and from the byeline, was denied a goal by a clear handball from Darren Miller as he slid in to block, leaving everyone onside the ground stunned when the referee awarded only a corner kick

A vital and deserved victory for Whitletts who close the gap at the top of the league to five points with a game in hand over the leaders, who have still to visit Dam Park this season Ardrossan

Winton Rovers
1. Mullen 2. Ross 3. Jamieson (Donaldson 76) 4. Miller 5. Cairnie (Lennox HT) 6. Davidson 7. Colligan 8. Tan 9. Caddis 10. McMahon 11. Kearns (McGregor 35) Substitutes (not used) 12. Stevenson 16. Kelly

Whitletts Victoria
1. McInnes 2. Anderson 3. Ewart 4. Kirkland 5. Cunningham 6. Sloan 7. Cameron 8. Black 9. Harvey (Boyd 71) 10. Kerr 11.Baird (Kennedy 67) Substitutes (not used) 15. Boyle 16. Campbell 21. Dorigo

Referee: Blair Fraser